Collaborations , International

General Rehearsal (Moscow)

General Rehearsal” is a multidisciplinary project conceived and realised in collaboration between V-A-C Foundation, KADIST, and the Moscow Museum of Modern Art.
The exhibition will combine a selection of works from these three international art collections and feature over one hundred artists. Designed to evolve and change like a living organism that adapts and responds to its environment, “General Rehearsal” adopts the structure of a theatrical play, developing over three acts staged over a five-month period. In this framework, the project proposes considering artworks as actors in the play, having a potential agency similar to human beings.
The Belgian artist Koenraad Dedobbeleer, well-known for expanding our perspective of objects and their appearance with his installation and sculpture, has been commissioned to design displays, walls, plinths, seating and other forms that will guide the visitor.
A wide-ranging public programme for all ages within the framework of “General Rehearsal” will include tours, talks, reading groups, screenings, an art mediation department and a live music/performance/theatre programme. Highlights include Romanian artist Alexandra Pirici’s sculptural performance entitled “Parthenon Marbles” (KADIST collection), featuring local actors and dancers, which questions the role of the arts in contemporary economies.
“General Rehearsal” will include work by artists such as Pio Abad, Dennis Adams, Victor Alimpiev, Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Francis Alÿs, Eleanor Antin, Ei Arakawa & Sergei Tcherepnin, Tauba Auerbach, Yto Barrada, Christiane Baumgartner, Erick Beltrán, Barbara Bloom, Alighiero Boetti, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Alexander Brodsky, Marcel Broodthaers, Kennedy Browne, Matthew Buckingham, CAMP, Marc Camille Chaimowicz, Etienne Chambaud, Ali Cherri, Yin-Ju Chen, Phil Collins, Bernadette Corporation, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Matthew Darbyshire, Michael Dean, Mariana Castillo Deball, Willie Doherty, Köken Ergun, Harun Farocki, Ceal Floyer, Günther Förg, Peter Friedl, Chiara Fumai, Alexandra Galkina, Ryan Gander, Dora Garcia, Fabien Giraud & Raphael Siboni, Lola Gonzàles, Douglas Gordon, Andrew Grassie, Yu Honglei, Julius Koller, Jeff Koons, Mark Leckey, Pierre Leguillon, Jill Magid, David Maljkovic, Piero Manzoni, Allan McCollum, Lucy McKenzie, John Menick, Andrei Monastyrski & Collective Actions, Vladislav Mamyshev-Monroe, Amedeo Modigliani, Charlotte Moth, Melvin Moti, Jean-Luc Moulène, Ciprian Muresan, Shahryar Nashat, Otobong Nkanga, Ho Tzu Nyen, Boris Orlov,  Damián Ortega, Anatoly Osmolovsky, Alexandra Paperno, Philippe Parreno, Giuseppe Penone, Sigmar Polke, Pratchaya Phinthong, Dmitri Alexandrovitch Prigov, Walid Raad / ATLAS GROUP, Clément Rodzlieski, Cameron Rowland, Evariste Richer, Gerhard Richter, Wael Shawky, Yinka Shonibare, Simon Starling, Mladen Stilinovic, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Wolfgang Tillmans, Mikhail Tolmachev, Mario García Torres, Oscar Tuazon, Danh Vo, Kelley Walker, Jessica Warboys, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Raphaël Zarka, and Arseny Zhilyaev.